top of page

About Us


The Beta Omega Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was established on April 25, 1945, in Jackson, TN, by the following courageous women: Louise Howard Fournier, Willie Belle Rawls, Dorothy L. Clem Stevens, Martha Anderson, Grace Johnson, Daisy Ruth Trotter Shaw, Myram Chatman White, Anna Lee, Arva Lee Hildreth Sims, and Essie Mae Golden


During the 23rd National Convention in New York City, NY, the delegates recommended and voted in the affirmative that hereafter a Graduate Chapter shall be designated as an Alumnae Chapter and identified according to the community in which it is located. Therefore, Beta Omega Sigma was changed to Jackson (TN) Alumnae Chapter (JTAC).

Black and White Train

Today, Jackson (TN) Alumnae chapter continues the vision of the 22 Founders by promoting programs/events centered around the SORORITY'S FIVE-POINT PROGRAMMATIC THRUST: 

Economic Development
Educational Development
International Awareness and Involvement
Physical and Mental Health
Political Awareness and Involvement

Scholarships are provided annually through the chapter’s Miss Bronze West Tennessee Pageant. We are thankful for the collaborative partnership with Lane College, NAACP, American Cancer Society, March of Dimes, and Regional Inter-Faith Association (RIFA) for working with us as we make a positive impact in our service area. We thank our communities for their support!

Past Chapter


Dorothy L. Clems Stevens


Alfreda Martin Porter


Elaine Jarmon Pearson


Sylvia T. Naptha


Juanita B. Johnson


bottom of page